WZST-AM 1410

Original Call Letters: WBIL 

Originally Licensed: Mar 27, 1957

Original City of License: Leesburg  

Original Frequency: 1410

Origin of Call Letters:                                                                                                                        

Original Power: 1,000 watts                                                                                                                                                                                                          logo courtesy of Dr. Larry Flegle

Original Location: Corley Island Road  

Original Format: Modern Country

Network Affiliation(s):



1957-WBIL, Inc.
1960-Thompson K. Cassell
1964-Alpha B. Martin
1968-WYOU Radio, Inc. ($105,000)
1983-Harold Rueben
1984-Major League Broadcasting
1986-Stoehr Communications Corp.
1988-WQBQ Radio Corp. ($100,000)
1993-Hugh McComas
1999-Gateway Broadcasting and Internet, Inc  ($412,500)
2004-Rama Communications ($180,000 with WKIQ-AM 1240)
2009-Heartbeat Radio (LMA)
2010-Rama Communications

History Of Call Letters and Formats:

WBIL-1962-MOR      "We're Big In Leesburg"
WZST-1965-Modern Country  "Zest Radio-The Cleanest Spot on the Dial"
WINF-1986-Adult Contemporary/Oldies
WQBQ-1986-Adult Contemporary/Oldies ''The Voice of Lake County''
WQBQ-1990-News/Talk (Stereo)
WQBQ-1993-Traveler Info   "Welcome Radio''
WQBQ-2000-Sports     "ESPN Radio 1410" 
WQBQ-2004-Licensed/Silent (9/15)
WQBQ-2004-Traveler Information
WQBQ-2012-Licensed/Silent (1/14/12)
WQBQ-2012-Adult Standards (2/1/12)    "Enjoy Music Enjoy Life" 
WQBQ-2012-Urban AC  "Grown Folks Radio"
WQBQ-2012-Gospel   "Inspiration 1410"
WQBQ-2015-Adult Contemporary   "The Q"   "The Voice of Lake County"

Names In WZST History
Alpha B. Martin-1965-Owner/News Director
Elmo Kitts-1967-General Manager/Commercial Manager/Program Director/Chief Engineer-Alpha B. Martin Ownership
Red Wright-1967-Program Director-Alpha B. Martin Ownership
Wayne Robinson-1967-Commercial Manager-Alpha B. Martin Ownership
Eunice Lorenz-1967-News Director-Alpha B. Martin Ownership
Larry Lane--Alpha B. Martin Ownership  Larry was killed in an automobile accident in December, 1967
Arthur Ruben-1968-President-WYOU Radio
Gary Larsen-1968-General Manager-WYOU Radio
Ed Pendino (aka Ed Brown)-1968-1971-Program Director/News Director/Chief Engineer/10am-2pm-WYOU Radio, Inc.
Mal Hays-1968-Sales-WYOU Radio, Inc.
Clair Freeman-1968-Traffic & Accounting-WYOU Radio, Inc.
Ron Nelson-1968-6AM-10AM-WYOU Radio, Inc.
Jay Engle-1968-2PM-6PM-WYOU Radio, Inc.
Jim Hendricks-1968- 6PM to sign off and Sunday mornings-WYOU Radio, Inc.

Clark Taylor-1970-WYOU Radio  Biography
Chris Jones-1985-6AM-10AM-WYOU Radio
"Doc'' Holiday-1985-6AM-10AM-Community news and features-WYOU Radio
Forest Rogers-1985-10AM-Noon-WYOU Radio
Cindy Taylor-1985-2PM-6PM-News-WYOU Radio
Donna Glaze-1985-2PM-6PM-News-WYOU Radio

Charles (Charlie) Northrup
Tom Chapman-Sales

What's New

Biographies In Memory Sounds
/ FM 
Misc. Chronology What's News?