WETO-AM 1490 

Original Call Letters: WDLF 

Originally Licensed: Sep. 10, 1948 

Original City of License: Deland 

Original Frequency: 1490

Origin of Call Letters: 

Original Power: 1,000 watts

Original Location: 220 E. Hubbard Ave.

Original Format: Adult Contemporary

Network Affiliation(s):

Mutual Broadcasting System
Associated Press
Florida Radio Network


1948-Deland Broadcasting Company 
1951-Stetson University
1959-WJBS, Inc.
1960-WJBS, Inc. (New Ownership)
1962-Radio Deland, Inc.
1967-Cosmopolitan Communicators Group
1969-Norfolk Broadcasting Corp., Orlando   ($65,550 Mortgage Foreclosure Sale)
1970-WETO, Inc.
1978-We Two Inc.
1984-Stetson University ($425,000)
1987-Great Lakes Broadcasting Co. ($325,000)
1991-Green Broadcast Group  ($175,000)
2001-Black Crow Broadcasting
2005-J &V Communications  ($370,000)
2012-Diegel Communications, LLC  (LMA)

History Of Formats and Call Letters:

WDLF-1948-Full Service/Block Programming
WJBS-1949-Full Service/Block Programming
WJBS-1959-Adult Standards
WETO-1970-Comtemporary MOR
WETO-1978-Top 40
WXVQ-1980-Adult Standards
WXVQ-1984-Top 40
WNDA-2001-News/Talk-simulcast of WNDB-AM 1150, Daytona Beach
WTJV-2005-Mexican Regional
WTJV-2009-Licensed/Silent-9-09-3-10    see Tower Collapse  
WTJV-2010-Mexican Regional  Returns to the air
WTJV-2011-Spanish Contemporary Christian "Renacimiento Radio 1490"
WTJV-2012-Adult Standards Simulcast of WSBB-AM 1230

Names In WETO History

Jon C. Peterson-1970-President -WETO, Inc.

G. Nolan Kenner-1970-General Manager/News Director-WETO, Inc.

Dahlon Ritchey-1970-Program Director-WETO, Inc.

Mark Parrish  (Steven G. Pricket)-1970-Program Director-WETO, Inc.

Andreas Thomsen-1970-Chief Engineer-WETO, Inc./1972-Chief Engineer-WETO, Inc.

Paul Downs-1971-General Manager-WETO, Inc.
Jack Jackson-1971-Commercial Manager-WETO, Inc.
Bob Linsey-1971-Program Director-WETO, Inc.

Bob Andrews-1971-Chief Engineer-WETO, Inc.   Biography     In Memory  
Nolan Kenner-1974-Vice President-WETO, Inc.
Jerry Patrick (Jerry Poff)-1977-1978-WETO, Inc. 
James Beattie-1978-President-We Two Inc.
Keith Walker-1978-Traffic Manager-We Two Inc.
John Miller-1978-General Manager-We Two Inc.
Rick Maxwell-1978-Program Director/Music Director-We Two Inc.
Fred Ferrara-1978-Promtions Manager-We Two Inc.
Gary Moore-1978-News Director-We Two Inc.
Tom Panucci-1978-Sales Manager/Commercial Manager-We Two Inc.
Jim Davis-1978-Chief Engineer-We Two Inc.
Joe Bixby
Don Ammon  In Memory

What's New 

Biographies  In Memory  Sounds 
/ FM  
Misc. Chronology   What's News?