What’s News? 

March 2017

Tony Welch Passes      3-2-17
Former owner of WROD-AM 1340, Tony Welch (Anthony de Haro Welch), has passed away at the age of 81. Tony purchased the station in 1985 for $1.2 million. Welch sold the station in 1999. In 1985 under Tony's guidance, WROD received the Silver Bell Award from the Ad Council for Outstanding Public Service Broadcasting. The station is the only one in the United States to receive the award that year. Welch accepted the award at a luncheon at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.  
In Memory

New Vice President Of Sales     3-3-17
iHeartMedia Orlando has named Bill Reese as Vice President of Sales, effective immediately. Reese will be in charge of the sales efforts at stations including: WFLF-AM 540/102.5 FM, WTKS-FM 104.1, WYGM-AM 740/96.9 FM, WJRR-FM 101.1, WLRQ-FM 99.3 and WXXL-FM 106.7.  

Happy Birthday       3-10-17
To a good friend of this site, Don Gould who celebrates tomorrow Mar 11. 

Timmy Vee And Cumulus Settle Lawsuit       3-14-17
U.S. Magistrate Judge Karla Spaulding has approved an agreement between David Vickery aka Timmy Vee, former personality at WAOA-FM 107.1 and Cumulus Broadcasting LLC. Vickery brought suit in February of 2016. Details of the settlement are not available.

New Program Added To Sunday Night On WSBH      3-16-17
98.5 The Beach, WSBH-FM 98.5 is expanding it's weekend programming, adding "90's PLUS", a new show from the producer of Westwood One's "The Mike Harvey Show", Bryan James.  "90's PLUS" will air Sunday nights from 7PM-11PM and stay true to "The Mike Harvey Show" formula of a personality intensive-request style house party.

Congratulations To Peter King    3-17-17
CBS radio news man Peter King is being honored by the Florida Associated Press with the Florida Associated Press Broadcasters’ LEGACY AWARD.  The organization cites King’s distinguished career and his service as a role model and his involvement with the AP Broadcasters’ college workshop and more for this award.  He will be honored at the awards ceremony in Orlando on Saturday, April 8, 2017.

Happy Birthday!      3-17-17
Long time CFLRadio personality Ellis Feaster celebrates his 55th tomorrow. 

Happy Birthday!      3-22-17
On Thursday, WFIT-FM 89.5's Jeanne Kelly does the birthday dance and on Friday, a member of the
Georgia Radio Hall Of Fame, Dennis Winslow will blow out the candles. Happy birthday to both of you!

Feb PPM Ratings      3-23-17
Orlando February PPM ratings are in. see them here.

WDBO Wins A Gracie Award      3-24-17
WDBO-FM 96.5 and Cox Media Group-Orlando radio stations will be honored by the Alliance for Women in Media with a 2017 Gracie Award at a gala in Beverly Hills in June. A group award recognizing Estee from Power 95.3 (WPYO-FM 95.3), Ashley from K92.3 (WWKA-FM 92.3), Monica May from Star 94.5 (WCFB-FM 94.5), Denise Ryan from WMMO (WMMO-FM 98.9), Joe Kelley from News 96.5 WDBO (WDBO-FM 96.5) (as host), and Laurel Lee from News 96.5 WDBO (WDBO-FM 96.5) (as producer) for their roles during the round table-style coverage of the Pulse terror attack. 
Laurel Lee
from WDBO-FM 96.5 also won an individual Gracie Award for her on-going work as producer of content on Orlando’s Morning News as well for the round table programming during the Pulse terror attack coverage.

On The Move      3-25-17
WWKA-FM 92.3's Drew Bland director of programming and branding is headed to Seattle. He will become Program Director at Entercom Communications country “100.7 The Wolf”. Drew came to Orlando in 2014.

Another Gracie Award Winner     3-29-17
WAOA-FM 101.7's Cheree (Carter) of "The Zazza and Cheree Show" syndicated by Cumulus/Westwood One, has won a Gracie Award for National Host/Personality. The awards are given out by The Alliance For Women In Media.

Congratulations To WOKB       3-30-17
Shanti Persaud's WOKB-AM 1680 was the winner of the large market Gospel Radio Station of the Year at The Stellar Gospel Music Awards. The Stellar Gospel Music Awards is the first and oldest televised awards show honoring Gospel Music's Best for over 30 years.

Hannity To Receive Award       3-30-17  
“The Gene Burns Memorial Award for Freedom of Speech” for 2017 will be presented to Sean Hannity.   The Freedom of Speech Award is the longest-running and most prestigious honor annually bestowed by Talker's Magazine upon a member of the greater broadcasting community. The editorial board of TALKERS magazine renamed the publication’s long-running annual Freedom of Speech Award in 2013.


What's New


In Memory

AM / FM 



What's News?